jump to navigation

Am I done yet? December 30, 2008

Posted by Abishek in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have been standing still for while now… My eyes were locked with his, in a steady gaze. He looked very similar to me. A super short hair cut, thick eyebrows and a dark tan. It’s yet another day, yet another morning. The lateral reflection in front of me appeared to shoot a million rapid fire questions. What the fuck man!

***

Few months back, sitting idle at the hospital room, my fingers tuned HBO, then showing ‘Are we done yet’ – a certainly flop movie. My mom being at the post-operative ward and no one else in the room, I locked the television frequency. The story was about a man who tries to make his best decisions, but every time it screws up even bigger. The movie struck a chord… no, rattled all chords with me. Now, on new year’s eve, I cant help thinking back how the year had passed.

***

January 2008 started with a bang. Just a month ago, the bull markets had smiled a handsome unrealized profit, but all was gone in just five minutes one ‘fine’ day. It did not take many revolutions of the clock for me to discover than I was nailed on Saturn’s box. My job kept me technically happy, generated good cash flows into the positive quadrant, but my heart was never really happy. I hated to miss out the evenings. I hated to miss out being free. I hated to miss out not being myself. I got an amazing opportunity, an interview with Capital One, but D-day I could not even multiply digits – screwed up. Once I had to give a presentation on tele-conference, I was so confused with the meeting that I did not even realize when I had to present – screwed up. I was running late to office, bike punctured – screwed up. No puncture shop nearby – screwed up. The crow perfectly shits on me – screwed up. Finally came the day I resigned. One of my proudest moment a year back, getting this job, and today, it looked like a big relief to resign.

The bad luck did not stop though, it followed the sensex pattern – consistently kicks ass. I rented a new house, shifted my parents here, bought a slew of home products and finally became penniless. I started my new job with a lot of optimism. I knew I could do things, but for some reason everything stopped working with my magical touch – Either outlook doesn’t work or Visual Studio doesn’t work or even freaky you tube doesn’t work. God damn PC stopped working once. I thought it’s ok, things will change. It did change… It became worst. My CAT was a big flop, in spite of coaching classes and the pack of mocking cats, I was still smitten – both on my wallet and on the test. My memory also got volatile, I forgot to make tax saving investments, I forgot to meet friends, I even forgot my car number. Few times I forget to remove my helmet even after parking the bike. My TV also stopped working and if I dialed customer care their telephone stopped working. I try print an e-ticket – the website stops working. If it works – then printer stops working. I open the tap – no water. I switch on the pump – no electricity. I want to buy a guitar – no money. I promise to take out my Mom – car punctured. I change a new tube and next day go to meet a friend – again puncture, defect in the new tube this time though. Many times I get lost on directions. I see two roads, I think left is the correct road and take left, but the other road is correct. If I think left is correct but take the right road, still the other road is the correct one. If there is only one road? Then I am traveling the wrong direction. Phew! There is a big list of things that don’t work well with me – mobile phone, internet, bike, car, shoes, bags, credit cards, traffic police, dvds, aptitude exams, computers, software, money, equities, sports, tv, pen, couriers and mosquitoes. I know the list is still in expansion phase…

***

A stolen quote:
Failure is not when we fall, but when we refuse to rise again.

God! Then go ahead, bring it on me.
Welcome 2009… and Happy New Year!

Comments»

1. Kumaraguruparan - December 31, 2008

dude..
Send tis link to ur manager 😛
The 3rd para was awesome.
But don’t worry. We are sailing on the same boat.
And I believe we have many frnds to sail with us 😀
It just happens.

Comedy punch!!
————-
Vijay dialogue ah niyapagam vachikko..
Vazhkaingarathu oru vattam. Thokkuravan jeipan. Jeikkuravan thoopan 🙂

2. Shyam - December 31, 2008

nice post that depicts the life of many working professionals….

PSst:i never knew the poet in u :P….

3. saipriya - December 31, 2008

unnoda vazhkaila ivlooooo sogama?..BTB crow enga shit pannichu?

4. rajiv - January 1, 2009

hey abis,

what an incredible post.

5. CP - January 1, 2009

Kanna vazkaye porkalam Porkalam maralam vazkai than maruma

6. kousik - January 2, 2009

Dai ithula un tappu ethuvum illa 🙂

Cat class ni enga attend panna, hardly 5 classes?

Hmmm un soga kathaya kottita, ennala mudiyalaye 😦

7. abis - January 2, 2009

@ all: thanks a lot for taking off some time and reading the post 🙂

8. Fahad - February 16, 2009

machi.. ithu varaikkum en vaazhkai thaan sogathula poguthunnu ninachittu irunthaen.. ippo intha post ah padichathum naan etho parava illennu thonuthu.. good one da.. awaiting your next blog post man..


Leave a Reply

